About Us

The Faculty of Science & Technology is a leading institution in teaching & research in science, technology and innovations. It was established as a college in 1983 and remains a leading training and research centre in science, technology and innovations. It is located at Chiromo Campus. The mandate of the CBPS emanates from that of the University of Nairobi. This includes training, research, income generation and consultancy in the areas of Biological and Physical Sciences, Mathematics, Computer Science and Informatics. The Principal is the academic and administrative head of the College. The responsibilities of the Office of the Principal include management of academic affairs, human, financial and physical resources of the College.

The College, commonly known as Chiromo Campus, is located on more than 70 acres of land along Riverside Drive off Chiromo Road, 2 kilometres west of the Main Campus. It offers a diverse range of academic programmes in several academic units namely; School of Biological Sciences, School of Computing and Informatics, School of Mathematics, School of Physical Sciences, Institute of Climate Change and Adaptation (ICCA) recently (Dec. 2011) approved by Senate, and Centre for Biotechnology & Bioinformatics (CEBIB). The School of Physical Sciences comprises the Departments of Chemistry, Geology, Meteorology and Physics. The Campus also houses Chiromo Library, Self Study Centre, Information Communication Technology Centre (ICTC), and Preclinical Departments of the Schools of Medicine,  Pharmacy and Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. Also located on the Campus grounds are the Institute of African Studies (Material Culture Laboratory), the Central Examination Centre, UNES Conference Centre and cafeteria (Arziki), a member’s clubhouse and Chiromo Funeral Parlour, Chiromo Student Halls of Residence and the Lavender court staff houses.

The College also owns other facilities outside the Campus grounds, which include Moana Field station in Kwale, Field Station at Wilson Airport, University Lamu House and the Kibwezi Meteorological Station. 

The student enrollment has increased from few hundreds in 1983 to the current (2012/2013) student population of 3874, distributed as follows: Undergraduate students - 3,091 of which 875 are females and 2,216 are males; postgraduate - 783 of which 157 are females and 626 are males. The PhD enrolment is 151 candidates of whom 56 are females.

The College is a key player in diverse research activities including Actuarial Science, Biochemistry, Bioinformatics and Biotechnology, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computing and Informatics, Geology, Mathematics, Meteorology, Physics and Climate Change and Adaptation.